A touch of bad '90s teenage angst poetry

All the rage

The movement people call “emo” today slightly evolved from “grunge” about a decade and a half ago. Regardless, I was part of this “grunge” culture and wore the flannel shirts, ripped jeans, had the messy, dishelved long hair, and felt the torture of my mere existence. (There was a hint of sarcasm in that last phrase.) I roll my eyes at how much of a drama queen I was back then (10 times more so!) but my emotions as a teen were very painful and very real. Since I can’t provide a coherent, well-thought out post today, I decided to peel back a little bit of my vulnerability and share a bit of “angsty” poetry written on June 1, 1999. If you can get past the crappiness of it, you can get the sense I was feeling rather lonely.

Even though love never knocked on my doorstep
I looked out the window, waiting

Even though love never called me,
I sat there, anticipating

Even though love was never a guest in my home,
I sat there

Waiting for love,
Waiting alone.

3 thoughts on “A touch of bad '90s teenage angst poetry

  1. Wow!
    I was just making an analogy between Eddie and Jim Morrison.
    I don’t know when it will be ready.
    I’ve found two videos where both asked the lights to be turned off in almost the same way.
    Eddie, thanks the Lord, is a balanced man and have a child to raise.

  2. oh my…that looks just like the poetry I wrote in highschool…and it’s really not all that crappy…
    I had a huge notebook fulled with the “crap,” but I loved it sooo much and it somehow got lost and it makes me so sad…
    we know things those little teenagers in us…we do.

  3. Reliable Auto Transport – Over the years our company have created great relationships with car transportation lines and freight forwarders around the nation. Our commercial purchasing power with all the premier transporting lines allows us to pass on huge financial savings to you, our confidential clientele, offering you more savings when shipping your automobile over longer distances.

Leave a comment