Song of the Week: It's Going To Be Alright by Sara Groves

Another regular feature that I’ll try to do is post songs each week that really mean something to me and apply to my life during this week. One of my favorite artists is Sara Groves who writes so many songs that have helped me through different periods in my life.

This past week, I suffered from severe social anxiety on Tuesday and ended up having a panic attack. (I thought I was going to die; I couldn’t breathe!) My husband and I were on our way to counseling that night and Sara’s song “It’s Going To Be Alright” came on. I sang along with the song, fighting back tears the entire time. Finally my husband asks, “What does that song mean to you?” Immediately I burst into tears and told him I was fighting back tears, especially toward the end of the song where she urges the listener to “cast your cares.” That specific line is based on I Peter 5:7 where Peter writes, “Casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.” I’ve been really struggling with trusting God in the midst of all this, freaking out about what my coworkers think of me. I’ve been going through a “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret” phase. Where is God in the midst of my social anxiety? Where is he when I’m feeling alone and abandoned because my coworkers go out to lunch and don’t invite me? Where is God when I’m on the outskirts of forming close bonds with my coworkers just like they’ve formed close bonds with each other? Why am I the weirdo and the freak? What makes me so socially repulsive?

Then I hear Sara sing to me (it felt like it anyway), “I believe you’ll outlive this pain in you heart, and you’ll gain such a strength from what is tearing you apart” and those lyrics just GOT to me. It was as if God was speaking to me through the song and said, “Hey, it’ll be okay. I’m here for you and you’ll only get stronger from this situation. Marissa, you’ll be fine. It’ll be alright. Just talk to me. Tell me what you’re feeling. Tell me all about your pain. I’m here to listen and give you strength each day.” After feeling like God’s been like my dad for the past few years—not alive but up in the heavens somewhere, it’s like the silence was broken and He finally just communicated to me to turn to Him instead of running straight to my husband first. Talking to God is easier (and cheaper!) than talking to my husband.

Enough of the backstory. But now you know why I’ve chosen this particular song for Song of the Week. It seems like a good way to end the week on a good note. You can listen to the full song here. The lyrics are included below the cut.

Sara Groves “It’s Going To Be Alright”

It’s going to be alright

It’s going to be alright

I can tell by your eyes that you’re not getting any sleep

And you try to rise above it, but feel you’re sinking in too deep

Oh, oh I believe, I believe that

It’s going to be alright

It’s going to be alright

I believe you’ll outlive this pain in you heart

And you’ll gain such a strength from what is tearing you apart

Oh, oh I believe I believe that

It’s going to be alright

It’s going to be alright

When some time has passed us, and the story can be told

It will mirror the strength and the courage in your soul

Oh, oh, I believe I believe,

I believe

I believe

I did not come here to offer you cliché’s

I will not pretend to know of all your pain

Just when you cannot, then I will hold out faith

For you

It’s going to be alright

It’s going to be alright

We’re going to be alright

It’s going to be alright

I believe (x 10)

I believe that you’re going to be alright

I believe that I’m going to be alright

I believe that we’re going to be alright

I believe

I can tell by your eyes that you’re not getting any sleep

And I know how you’ve try, but you’re sinking in too deep

I believe (x 3)

I believe

Cast your cares

Cast your cares

Won’t you cast your cares

Won’t you cast your cares

On me

Leave a Reply

