Leaving comments

A few days ago, I was a whiny little 12-year-old asking for people to leave more comments.

Ignore that. It was a stupid attempt to inflate my little ego.

What really matters is that people read some of these posts and find the information helpful. I’d prefer that people walk away from this blog empowered with knowledge rather than just feeling obligated to leave comments.

Naturalgal mentioned that she’s turned off by CAPTCHA. I don’t blame her. I have pretty good eyesight and it’s frustrating for me as well. I’m hesitant to turn it off because my spam filter has caught 301 spam posts in the past 30 days. I don’t have time to sift legitimate comments from a plethora of others that contain words like p***y, d**k, and c**t.

You get the idea.

Leave comments if you wish, but don’t feel the need to do so because I said so.  Forgive me for my moment of selfishness.

3 Comments

  1. Tamara said,

    July 29, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    I am sorry – I can be a lurker sometimes when I don’t feel I have anything worthwhile to say. It doesn’t mean that I don’t get something out of reading your posts though. But, I do understand that comments matter. They are validating and we can all use some validation!
    Take care,
    Tamara

  2. July 29, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    Thanks, Tamara. Bloggers who comment on my blog allow me the opportunity to go read what they have to say! I’ve recently found a plethora of amazing bloggers that way.

  3. Greybeard said,

    July 30, 2008 at 9:19 am

    The best way to fight spam that I’ve run across is the default with wordpress.com. The combination of Akismet, which may work work with Typepad, and having to approve the first comment from any new commenter has prevented any spam from showing up on my blog.


Leave a Reply

