A Hard Day's Night

It’s been a hard day’s night, and I been working like a dog
It’s been a hard day’s night, I should be sleeping like a log
A Hard Day’s Night, The Beatles —

I’ve been incredibly busy with work (working 2 weekends in a row, really) and haven’t had much energy to blog. I’ve been trying to relax lately but my mind is so tired from proofreading (on-site) for 7-8 hours that thinking beyond that is too much. Since the FT editor is still recovering from her car crash, I’ve been taking up most of her duties, including major projects like reviewing ENTIRE websites – so far, I’ve looked at three or four different ones, an online training module, and a brand new online survey. My brain is beginning to turn to mush. A few people at the company have told me that I’m doing really good work so that’s a blessing. I’ve basically stepped into the role full-time with Wednesdays off for Bible Study and counseling. While I enjoy what I do, I’m looking forward to having my normal two days off per week so I can clear my mind, blog, and hopefully get this freelance writing thing started. If I’m bringing work home with me on the weekends, that doesn’t leave me much time for writing. While the money is good, I don’t need to be stressed. I left my last job for that very reason.

Speaking of my last job, I got a callback for an interview and cancelled it after thinking about it and praying about it. I decided that I was much happier with my current job even if I have to deal with the nuisance of filing a 1099 and not having the convenience of a W-2. I also hate invoicing. But I just need to remind myself that it’s a minor inconvenience compared to doing what I love to do. While I’m disappointed that I don’t get to edit (I love tearing written pieces up to make them better, including my own), I’m thinking of putting an ad out an Craigslist and seeing if anyone responds to it. Craigslist always freaks me out because I never know whether the person on the other end is trustworthy or not. But then again, 2008 is my year of taking risks, right?

This post was longer than I’d intended. I don’t think I’ll be posting regularly again until I’m back to a part-time position. Business is busy and hectic enough as it is. I hope I’m holding my own.

1 Comment

  1. Gianna said,

    June 14, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    good to hear from you Marissa…sounds like you’re dealing with your additional responsibilities very well.


Leave a Reply

