Internet trolls and stalkers: a pathetic breed indeed

Gianna at Bipolar Blast is discontinuing her blog because of idiots and trolls who have sent her mean and disturbing comments that have affected her and her mental well-being. This angers and upsets me as it just goes to show that some people have no care for anyone but themselves.

Jane, a commenter at Furious Seasons, wrote:

As I read this piece I couldn’t help but think the drug companies are behind a lot of this.

I can’t help but agree. I can’t help but wonder if Gianna’s blog was so informative and effective that a few people decided attack a successful mental health blogger. She obviously was doing something right if some people felt threatened.

I hope that she will take some time to recover and gather up her strength. She is in my prayers, and for those who pray, please keep her in yours as well.

2 Comments

  1. Bob Thompson said,

    June 2, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    This comic is related to gaming but is applicable to pretty much anything internet discussion related that involves douchebags. Caution:it contains naughty words.
    Anonymity allows people to do and say things they’d never do/say face-to-face.
    As for drug companies being behind it, I’d like to think not but I wouldn’t put it past them. At the very least, people involved with the pharma companies could be doing it without any prompting from management.

  2. June 2, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    That’s too bad. I try to follow the rule “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”
    I hope that Gianna will be lifted up in prayer. It’s no fun to be taunted by trolls.


Leave a Reply

