Thank you

Thank you, everyone, for your well-wishes and outpouring of support. I saw my psych today and he is adding 2-5 mg of Abilify to my medication regimen. He had me choose between Geodon and Abilify. Of course, I am hesitant to do this. Take a look at Philip’s post on Abilify and then take a look at CLPsych’s post about how Abilify performed against placebo. My psych pointed out that I did better on 200 mg of Lamictal but I distinctly remember feeling cognitive impairment on 200. The 150 seemed to work well for a while but I don’t know what’s happening. And to be quite honest, I’m always a little wary of alternative treatments even though I know they have helped so many people. I wonder if they are for me.

More thoughts soon…

6 Comments

  1. Prester John said,

    April 29, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    You know as well as anybody that the med game is a crap-shot. Personally, I’ll have to take the doctors advice over the bloggers. All this stuff affects everybody differently.
    You sound better and I’m glad.
    Take care.

  2. April 29, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    I’d agree with PJ aka Greybeard. You need to listen to the doctors, but at the same time you need to listen to YOURSELF. Not every med is the magic cure-all for depression. I know I tend to go into a fury of over-research when I want to know something NOW, then start to get panicked when it’s not what I think it is.
    If you start to feel like it’s not working, talk to your doc. Granted, you’re going to go through what I call the “lab rat” game. But, you need to find something that works. Sending you hugs!!!

  3. Stephany said,

    April 29, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Good luck, I’m thinking about you.

  4. Rick said,

    April 30, 2008 at 3:12 am

    You’re going about this the right way, Marissa. You’re getting professional, medical help that includes a meds regimen, but you’re also keeping a critical eye on the realities of pharmaceuticals. In the end, this approach will keep you well. God bless.

  5. Nancie said,

    April 30, 2008 at 4:25 am

    Glad you are better, Marissa. Praying for you. Take care.

  6. Jazz said,

    April 30, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Good luck with the med adjustment! You’re in my thoughts.


Leave a Reply

