A blogger's perspective on suicide hotline volunteer work

I’m pretty liberal when it comes to suicide humor jokes. (My husband hates it when I tell them though.) I came across this post from a blogger who volunteered at a suicide hotline center. I actually found it offensive.I don’t mind “demotivator” posters—in fact I love them—but I now realize they need to be used in an appropriate context. I would think that someone who worked at a suicide hotline would realize the severity of callers’ situations even if it was tiring work. I guess at some point you gotta laugh, right? Here’s the post:

People have been asking me what I learned from volunteering at a suicide call center.

It gets tiring telling people to “hang in there” and that they have something to live for when you really know they don’t.

Which is why I am writing my new book (see below).

Suicide poster

I’d like to dedicate my book to the New Zealand Chess Team and the Polish Space Exploration Project.

Okay, the NZ Chess Team and Polish SEP thing was funny to me.

What do you think? Am I being oversensitive?

2 Comments

  1. Bob Thompson said,

    April 25, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    telling people to “hang in there” and that they have something to live for when you really know they don’t
    The person that posted this is an ass and should be nowhere near a suicide hotline call center.

  2. NotFunny said,

    November 8, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Yeah, if you think youre funny, youre not. And guess what, there is are polish space projects going on. why do you think Poland has taken part in the Iraq war and such? Why do you think any other country took part in that war? does the geografic location of Iraq tell you something? Does it ring any bells? Just because the us is bragging of what “great” acheivements it accomplished, and other countries are not saying anything, doesnt mean they’re not doing anything.


Leave a Reply

