I'm officially unemployed

As of this past Monday, I currently own the title of "resident housewife." I made the big jump, at my husband's behest, and now find myself doing domestic things like housework and running errands. (I can't tell you how many times I washed dishes yesterday.) Oddly enough, I don't seem to mind except my feet hurt. I'd like a part-time job but the likelihood of obtaining a job where I wouldn't work weekends is highly unlikely. I have a friend, however, who's willing to pay me $10 an hour to help take care of her kids on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. She's currently having carpal tunnel problems so I'll likely take advantage of that offer whenever I can.

During the next coming weeks, I'm also going to try and freelance write. We'll see how that works out for me. I also wouldn't mind picking up some editing and proofreading jobs so I might have to re-interview with creative staffing services like Aquent and Boss Staffing. If anyone knows of any other creative staffing services like that in the Philadelphia area, please let me know. They specialize in placing people in "creative" jobs like editing, copy writing, proofreading, desktop publishing, web design, etc.

So that's my update. I can't promise multiple posts a day but I hope to write about mental health issues for a few publications so the potential for frequent posts and scouring other blogs for information in the next few weeks could be high. We'll see. I'm not sure about a market on writing about mental illness but it's one of the few topics I have a significant interest in.

As a result of leaving my job, the excellent medical  insurance that covered my husband and I has expired. We'll be moving to his health care insurance (which isn't awful but not as great as mine was). After a cursory search, however, we noticed that my psychiatrist isn't included under his plan. I'm reluctant to go to another doctor because I've already established a rapport with my current one. He's allowed me to have control over my own treatment and dictate the medication that I choose to use. I'm afraid another psychiatrist would try to shove Abilify down my throat if I mention passing suicidal thoughts. A few months ago, I went down to 100 mg of Lamictal in an attempt to slowly come off of it. I've been decreasing my dosages by about 25-50 mg every three months. I had a recurrence of frequent suicidal thoughts so I upped my dosage back to 150 mg. I was hoping that perhaps I had tricked myself into feeling better in conjunction with my counseling, but my suicidal thoughts have significantly decreased on the increased dose. It never ceases to scare me how much medication influences my mind.

2 Comments

  1. JohnD said,

    March 7, 2008 at 1:39 am

    I’m sorry you’re unemployed, but your vivid writing well describes a horrible situation to have to work with. And I have to say quite selfishly that it’s great to hear you’ll be blogging frequently. This was one of the first blogs I encountered last summer when I was thinking about starting one, and I instantly took to your honesty and fine style as a writer.
    I don’t know how helpful the online freelance sites might be, but I’ve heard good things about Helium as a community and place to get noticed.
    Best of luck to you in this new approach to your writing career!
    JohnD

  2. March 7, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Thanks, John. I appreciate the well wishes.


Leave a Reply

