Intermittent Blogging

OK, well, apparently, I haven’t done a very good job of checking and clearing out my e-mail since June. I’ve seen a lot of new commenters come through (as well as familiar ones) and I’d love to get to everyone, but in my mortality, I realize that’s just not possible. I’ll try to get back to as many people as I can, but no promises. Welcome to all who are new to the blog and a warm hello to familiar readers.

Hope everyone is doing well. I just got back from vacation last week in North Carolina. It was a little crazy, but overall relaxing. We went down to the Outer Banks and stayed in a house two blocks away from the beach so I appreciated being able to walk on the beach almost every night at sundown. I didn’t have access to the Internet, but I weathered my withdrawal just fine. (I subsituted the Internet for Krispy Kreme!)

There’s a lot going on in mental health news that I’d love to weigh in on. I’m learning not to promise very many things, but there a few things I’ve been itching to write about – especially Owen Wilson’s suicide attempt. Like me, he’s had attempts in the past.

My depression’s lifted for a bit. I’ve gone down to 150 on the Lamictal (from 200) and much of the mental fog has since cleared. I’m still hoping to taper off the drug before getting pregnant.

Work comes and goes so I’ll probably type up a few posts occasionally. I can e-mail my posts (thank God for mobile posting!) so excuse any typos or grammatical errors that you might stumble across. And the comment spammers have since disappeared. I might ease my HTML/word filter restrictions and see what happens.

I’ve given up the job search for now. I applied for a proofreader position within my company, but it looks like they’ve passed over me so I’m still here in my assistant job. I’m a bit more comfortable with my job after being here for a year so I’m not particularly in the mood for a a new upheaval. Although, I AM keeping in touch with a marketing company I freelanced for last year. With my benefits – especially maternity leave – I’m better off staying here and working at this company. (But I don’t want to be a “lifer”!) I’ll probably take my six weeks of paid maternity leave then quit. I’m hoping to be a stay-at-home mother depending on our financial situation.

The coworker thing has since eased up. My counselor has challenged me to push forward and love my coworkers as Christ as commanded – you know, “love others as yourself” type thing. I have a knack for being nicer to other people than I am to myself, so that’s not a problem. It’s about not obsessing over what they think of me, what they’re saying about me, etc., etc. These are the things I don’t tell my psych lest I be thrown on Zyprexa or Seroquel.

A lot has occurred since I last posted and I don’t know if I’ll ever get it all out on here, but I’m alive, doing fine, and getting by.

9 Comments

  1. Amber Anique said,

    September 6, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    Welcome Back! You’ve been missed! Three Cheers For Krispy Kreme!!! I know what those round, glazed babies can do!! πŸ™‚

  2. Stephany said,

    September 9, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    Nice to see you back here!

  3. September 10, 2007 at 3:58 am

    Glad to see that you’re back and feeling better! I like Krispy Kreme too although I think it’s a fairly new product on the West Coast! I must admit that my real favorites are still a local donut shop that makes glazed twists and buttermilk donuts.

  4. September 10, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Glad to see that you’re back and feeling better! I like Krispy Kreme too although I think it’s a fairly new product on the West Coast! I must admit that my real favorites are still a local donut shop that makes glazed twists and buttermilk donuts.

  5. September 10, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Glad to see that you’re back and feeling better! I like Krispy Kreme too although I think it’s a fairly new product on the West Coast! I must admit that my real favorites are still a local donut shop that makes glazed twists and buttermilk donuts.

  6. September 10, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Glad to see that you’re back and feeling better! I like Krispy Kreme too although I think it’s a fairly new product on the West Coast! I must admit that my real favorites are still a local donut shop that makes glazed twists and buttermilk donuts.

  7. September 10, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Glad to see that you’re back and feeling better! I like Krispy Kreme too although I think it’s a fairly new product on the West Coast! I must admit that my real favorites are still a local donut shop that makes glazed twists and buttermilk donuts.

  8. September 10, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Glad to see that you’re back and feeling better! I like Krispy Kreme too although I think it’s a fairly new product on the West Coast! I must admit that my real favorites are still a local donut shop that makes glazed twists and buttermilk donuts.

  9. October 31, 2007 at 5:38 am

    Everything you said about maternity leave is so true! I completely support your opinion!


Leave a Reply

