Lack of posts

Sorry I haven’t been posting much. I haven’t abandoned the blog. But you all know my situation and as it stands, it majorly sucks right now.

I’m currently wrestling with the idea of having a kid soon. My husband and I talked about it and we knocked all  of our concerns down to the medication issue. I’ve been doing really well on the Lamictal, but there are warnings all over the prescription that say "Do not take while pregnant." My doctor’s pretty much, "You need to outweight the benefits vs. the risks." He said there’s a slightly increased chance of my kid developing a cleft palate but not much more than the average population. You know me – I need to do my research. I’d like to nurse my kid and I don’t want it to nurse on Lamictal.

Anyway, any advice you want to throw my way would be appreciated. Thanks.

3 Comments

  1. Stephany said,

    August 4, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    I’m certainly no expert about it, but I breastfed 3 babies and most doctors/nurses tell women [like I said I am not claiming to be right on this]that everything passes thru breast milk. I can verify that eating garlic loaded foods gave my kids gas and also zuchinni created issues. Though that isn’t medication, I always was a non-everything person. No caffeine, Advil,etc. But I wasn’t having to worry about taking a med that has given you stability,like you are though.[I wasn’t on Lamictal until age 46.] On that note, I have had a few women tell me that when they were pregnant[one woman is bipolar]they went off of all meds and never felt better in their life.[while pregnant] Those were just stories told to me, but thought I would pass them along.
    What a very difficult thing to have to worry about.

  2. Carrie said,

    August 4, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    At one point in my life I had the opportunity to face such a challenge. I never got the chance to follow through.
    How I coped? Lots of chatting with doctors and even more prayer. Don’t be afraid to let God lead the way. πŸ™‚

  3. Gianna said,

    August 5, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Marissa,
    You can always try stabilizing yourself with diet and nutrition. You don’t have to trust me—there are plenty of books on the topic and you might be able to find someone who knows about such things who is a professional. It can’t hurt and it just might allow you to stay off meds.
    I truly believe we can heal without meds. I know you already know that–most people who hear that aren’t willing to try though. It seems like you have a good excuse to at least give it a try right now.
    I wanted kids and I couldn’t entertain it because my doctor had me on 7 drugs, now that I am almost off my drugs I’m pretty much past the due date. You still have time.
    I wish the best of luck with whatever you decide.


Leave a Reply

