Minimal posting once again

My job has blocked access to “social networking and personal sites.” (I’m updating this through my mobile e-mail settings.) I can access the main page of my blog (for now) and the main page of other Typepad sites, but that’s about it.

I will also be unable to read other blogs. Blogspot, which the majority of you use, is completely blocked. I have access to wordpress blogs for now, but I don’t expect it to last long.

Ever since I started this blog, I’ve found it to be a great way to escape the day and to write about my life and subjects that affect others. It’s been quite easy at work to do research during downtime (i.e. nothing to do) and write about it. If all blogs are blocked, I’m not sure what I’d do. (Yes, I admit, it’s pretty sad that I need to blog during the day to deal with the craziness of my life, namely at work.) You could say this is my form of therapy. And you know how it is, even if you don’t use something very much, the very fact that you’re restricted makes you want to rebel.

I’ve also made a promise to myself early on – especially around the time when I was hospitalized – that I would find another job once they began blocking blogs. Part of me knew it would happen eventually (they’ve always blocked me from making comments on a friend’s site), but I hoped it would never happen while I was here. Now that it has, my job search will get intensely serious. (Even though basically nothing exists in my desired field in the Philadelphia metro area.) I’ll probably still be here through September. Although it won’t surprise me if I’m still here through January. (Sigh.)

Part of me also wishes that they’d give a reason behind what they do so I could understand why certain sites are blocked. (I had access to personal e-mail here last summer until September.) I can understand blocking e-mail; I can understand blocking MySpace, Facebook, and YouTube – but really, blogs? Maybe I’m missing something here. If so, please feel free to tell me. I have the funny feeling the only thing I’ll have access to in the end is Google and medically related sites. I’m not holding out much hope for even Wikipedia. We’ll see.

Stay tuned.

3 Comments

  1. Gianna said,

    July 18, 2007 at 10:40 am

    I just changed my blog to WordPress–in the nick of time–read away!!

  2. Rick said,

    July 18, 2007 at 11:43 am

    If you have access to Google, do you also have access to Google Reader? That’s how I read the majority of my blogs. You might not be able to go out to the blogs and post comments, but at least you’ll be able to get content. Just a thought.

  3. July 20, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    That’s a huge bummer. I guess it’s a plus that you will still be able to post…by pre writing and posting them while you are away from work…but I’ll miss your visits to my blog that’s for sure.


Leave a Reply

