Mac OSx vs. Windows XP – Mac OSx wins Round 1

"I left HP (PC’s) and went over to Mac…I’ve never been happier!!
Customer service and the computers (outside of ipods) are THE BEST I’VE EVER HAD!!! I’D NEVER LEAVE THEM!!!!" ~
Amber Anique

Looks like I took your advice without seeing your comment first, Amber. My husband suggested getting a Macbook (mainly because he’s a techie geek and wanted to mess with an operating system other than Windows and Linux), but I was initially reluctant because I haven’t used a Mac regularly since, oh, 1993 or something. (I remember the days when computers in black text/beige background or green text/black background were the standard.) But after having a bad experience with Dell (LCD went bad twice, one hard drive gave up the ghost, keyboard keys began falling off) and now HP (bad RAM it seems, but HP techies were never able to figure it out despite the laptop being sent back twice), I decided to purchase a Macbook on Saturday. It’s my biggest purchase ever and I initially had buyer’s remorse, but I love it. It’ll take a little getting used to, however. So many things won me over:

  • Tech support at the actual store
  • A plan that allows me to easily backup my entire hard drive to a DVD in the event of failure
  • Macs are reliable; not known for crashing as often as Windows
  • I love the clean interface
  • Weighs in at a portable 6 lbs with the AC adapter

There were a ton of other things that I can’t recall to mind at the moment (I’ll explain why in a following post), but I finally decided to fork over the – ack – $1600 to get the Macbook, MS office, 3-year protection plan, and the yearly Mac thingy (the one with the backup plan). I shaved about $200 off the price because I lied about being a Drexel student (oops). I feel guilty about lying, but my buyer’s remorse would be even greater with an $1800 price tag.

So now I’ll have the opportunity to catch up e-mails, blogging, and news. Albeit, very slowly. And now I have to brave the process of RELOADING all my songs onto iTunes (and repurchasing the ones I didn’t back up in the month duration that my HP crapped out on me before sending it back on two separate occasions. I was able to salvage my new documents before the HP decided to die permanently, but my newly downloaded songs (that I paid for) are gone.

Such is life. Give me five years, Amber, and let’s see if I still agree with your assessment. So far, I’ve barely had a laptop survive past the 3-year warranty expiration. (I’ve had better luck with desktops.)

1 Comment

  1. Amber Anique said,

    June 7, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    Your husband is BRILLIANT….AND SO ARE YOU!!! πŸ™‚
    It does take some getting used to, but it’s so much easier than using a PC. All of the extra steps are elliminated…it’s so easy that it seems difficult, lol. I pray that you’ll be as happy as I am. Who needs the additional stress of computer issues when you’re working on mental stability? Grace & Peace! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

