IMPORTANT: Banned words result in deleted comments

I’ve had several spammers over the weekend now (for some reason, they’ve been posting in Italian), so in addition to banning IP addresses, I’m also banning some words. General cuss words have been banned (damn is allowed). "Nude" and "incest" have also been banned so please find a more verbose way to express that. If I get a lot of "naked," that will be banned too. Comments with those words are automatically deleted. (My posts [not comments] can get around it, haha.) Unfortunately, I’ve allowed the word "sex," because it’s pretty frustrating to have a legit comment deleted with that word. Or I may just have you start writing "gender" or "copulation" or that sort of thing. πŸ™‚ "Gay," "lesbo," and "lesbian" are banned as well. Use "homosexual male/female" or "woman who likes women" instead. I know it’s a pain, but this would really help me out. This list is likely to be updated.

I am no longer allowing limited HTML. If you have a URL, just paste the URL without the HTML tags. Limited HTML is temporarily allowed.

I doubt you’ll have to use this process often, but it’s here as a reminder. I’ll place a link to this post in the right-hand corner of the site for easy reference.

I also am no longer accepting trackbacks. We’ll see what happens with that.

Sorry for the inconvenience, folks.

4 Comments

  1. Bob Thompson said,

    June 4, 2007 at 10:52 am

    That’s homosexual

  2. Rick said,

    June 4, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    How’d you manage to get past your own filters? πŸ™‚
    I’ll be careful not to use banned words from now on.

  3. Michael Jahn said,

    March 17, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    So then, I supposed the suggesting that if one says things like “place your johnson where the sun don’t shine” or “eat my feces” can get by then – humm – we shall see (when I check the comments).
    I guess my blog is to boring or uncontroversial to have caused me to consider this issue. It is terrible that there is no redaction or ‘bleep’ like technology that automatically replaces a word from a ‘do not allow’ library that you can custom build – i think that would be a great idea.

  4. March 18, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Hi Michael,
    I had an issue with spammers that caused me to create these filters. I haven’t had a problem with actual commenters. It seems like Typepad has gotten the spam thing under control so I might lift the ban but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I suppose this can be viewed as a way to be creative with getting your message across.


Leave a Reply

