Spammers

Despite the fact that a top spammer has been nabbed, somehow spammers have figured out a way around the capcha code and I’m getting a spammer comment per day. One a day isn’t a problem. However, if the frequence of spammers increase to an unmanageable point, I will have to require commenters to sign up for Typekey, a free service that allows users to comment on Typepad sites and all other Six Apart-owned sites. It’s not necessary now, but there’s no harm in doing it. For more information about Typekey, click here. Here’s an incentive if you need one:

TypeKey is a completely pseudonymous system meaning that no personally identifying information is required to use it. However, if you wish to tell the world a little bit more about yourself, you can put whatever information you choose to share on your TypeKey profile page. A link to that page is displayed next to every comment your make when you authenticate through TypeKey.

3 Comments

  1. Rick said,

    June 1, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    I see you’re using typepad. I have a custom WordPress install, and I’ve found that using a combination of Akismet and Bad Behavior reduces my spam comments to nothing. I don’t remember the last time I’ve had to remove a spam comment that made it through the filters.

  2. June 1, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    I’ve never had a problem until yesterday with spam. WordPress usually does a good job with catching spam before it shows up as a comment, even without that code thingy…however, yesterday I got two spam comments in a row show up on my blog.
    Not a huge deal if you decide to require people to sign up for that…hey, it is free like you said.

  3. Jon said,

    June 1, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    I haven’t used Typepad, but I use WordPress on a few blogs. While I like some of it’s features, I still keep coming back to blogger.


Leave a Reply

