TAC's Irrelevant Statistics

A couple of things:

  • I’m going to go the way of Gianna at Bipolar Blast and admit that my stats weren’t as accurate as I would have liked them to be. (Hey, I did say, "I could be wrong.") My math is about average and stats were never my thing so please, feel free to take a page out of John Grohol’s book at PsychCentral.com and do a kick-ass analysis of studies or stats that interest you. I must say, however, I am quite flattered at helping raise awareness about the TAC’s stupidity. All credit goes to Furious Seasons for picking at them piece by piece first. Cairn, a commenter over at CLPsych, did a better job of analyzing the stats I used. It seems pretty spot on to me.
  • My husband – the better mathematician and also my better half – pointed out something I’m not sure anyone picked up on. (My apologies to anyone who did.) Let’s recap:

USPRA: “Violence is no more prevalent among individuals with mental illness than the general public”
Fact: The CATIE violence study found that patients with schizophrenia were 10 times more likely to engage in violent behavior than the general public (19.1% vs. 2% in the general population).

Have you figured out what it is yet? Well, the TAC took the USPRA’s broad statement about violence among people with mental illness and applied data about violence among schizophrenics only. The data the TAC used is irrelevant because it doesn’t even apply. The percentages that the TAC used to combat the USPRA’s statement isn’t even an accurate because, well, the USPRA wasn’t talking about schizophrenics; they were talking about the mentally ill in general. So all my stats in my last post are pretty much moot at this revelation because of TAC’s skewed application of the CATIE violence study statistics.

"There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies,
and statistics."
~ Mark Twain
Leave a Reply

