Loose Screws Mental Health News

I haven’t done this for a while so hopefully I can pick this up again a little more regularly. (crosses fingers)


Read a heart-wrenching story in the UK Daily Mail about a mother whose postpartum depression led her to begin slitting her wrists.

Tom ChaplinTom Chaplin, singer for the band Keane, has admitted to contemplating suicide.

Tom – who was taking up to two grams of cocaine a day – revealed to Britain’s Q Magazine: “I was at the end of my tether in Japan. I was tired of my life and feeling pretty suicidal. I got off the plane and called my dad. I’d told him that I’d left the band and that I was falling apart. I checked myself into The Priory.”

Chaplin’s interesting view:

Despite his own drugs hell, Tom says it’s a personal decision to experiment with substances. He claims troubled rock star Pete Doherty should be left to take all the drugs he wants.

Tom said: “No-one’s got any right to stop him killing himself.”

An article in the Chicago Tribune on how VNS is beginning to show benefits for some patients. Which reminds me, browse on over to VNSdepression.com to learn more.

Nicholas Vakkur must have read the Treatment Advocacy Center’s post on how the CATIE study shows an increase in violent offenses by mentally ill patients (namely those with psychosis and schizophrenia). He refutes this idea on dissidentvoice.org:

Individuals with a mental illness are far more likely to be the victims, rather than the perpetrators of violence, while the vast majority of people who commit acts of violence against others are not in fact mentally ill.

This rush to stereotype individuals suffering from psychiatric illness as likely murderers is reckless and lacks credulity. Mental illness has no role in the majority of violent crimes committed in our society. Alcohol and substance abuse far outweigh mental illness as factors contributing to violence, while the strongest predictor of violent and/or criminal behavior is a past history of violence and criminality, not a major mental illness.

3 Comments

  1. Gianna said,

    May 1, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    For some critical analysis on VNS see CL Psych:
    http://clinpsyc.blogspot.com/2007/05/cyberonics-says-ouch.html
    then follow the links to his other commentary on the subject. The article in the Chicago Tribune is likely misleading–as so much coverage of “cures” for mental health can be.

  2. Polly said,

    May 2, 2007 at 12:38 am

    Not really on topic, but after I read the postpartum depression story, I clicked on one of the links to another story on the side of the page.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?in_article_id=451969&in_page_id=1770
    “Hold on to your trousers… it’s the world’s fastest loo!”
    It made me laugh at a time that I really needed it.

  3. Stephany said,

    May 2, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    I love Keane. I’m a music junkie, and bought tickets to see them; and the show was cancelled due to the re-hab. I guess we can all agree that living w/ any mental health issue is just plain hard.


Leave a Reply

