Suicide: Understanding and Intervening – Part V, Felt Need

According to Black, those drawn to suicide are being denied a “felt need.”

“Depressed people who report feeling suicidal normally associate their pain with some thwarted felt need. Second, they have come to believe that they cannot endure the pain associated with that ‘unmet need.’”

He continues:

“Where does all this anguish come from? It is created and sustained by thwarted desires that a person experiences as felt needs: ‘I need what I have lost and have no hope of getting.’”

I like the principle of felt need. It can be used in any suicidal situation. The principle of “felt need” correctly identifies why a person considers suicide. The main statement follows Black’s model:

“I need ___[fill in the blank]___ and feel hopeless about ___[fill in the blank]___.”

In my case, sometimes I don’t have specific reasons for being suicidal – I just am. Therefore, the previous statement for me is as follows, “I need TO BE FREE FROM EMOTIONAL PAIN and feel hopeless about FREEDOM FROM EMOTIONAL PAIN.”

This lack of hopelessness is what drives me directly to suicide.

Leave a Reply

