Miss Philadelphia campaigns for teen depression awareness

Housekeeping items:

  1. My computer was on the fritz so I’m really backed up on reading/responding to e-mails and catching up on blogs. Work is busy so I haven’t been able to update regularly. (Although I have a minute right now.) My series on suicide was scheduled in advance.
  2. I’m postponing my puppy of the week series as of this week. I haven’t had time to schedule those posts either. Quote of the week and Saturday Stats may also be put on hold eventually. We’ll see.
  3. I really appreciate many of your thoughtful and insightful comments and hope to respond to them soon. Being married while working and having multiple things to do after work consumes much of my time. I don’t plan to have kids soon, but I may discontinue this blog if I have children. Perhaps not, I hope to be a stay-at-home mom.

Miss PhillyNow for the latest news I can give you:

Thank God the delivery boy has restarted delivering Metro newspaper in my hometown. I picked up today’s paper to find that Miss Philly’s mission is to raise awareness about depression in teens. Kimberly Rodgers of Richboro, Bucks County, Pennsylvania is a pharmaceutical marketing consultant at TargetRX in Horsham, Pa.

Miss Philly’s goals seem quite noble. From the Metro interview, she’s not pushing adolescents taking meds – she simply wants teens to “talk” about their problems. As a pharma rep, I’m sure she sees a lot of issues with depression, but I’m just curious as to why she’s targeted teens instead of the general public. Perhaps she sees adolescents as a demographic that gets overlooked? I’m not saying her motives are impure and funded by evil pharmaceutical interests, but I thought her campaign platform was interesting.

Just thought I’d share.

2 Comments

  1. Stephany said,

    April 4, 2007 at 3:53 am

    I commented at the link on Furious Seasons–but here’s another one for the road; they are targeting teen girls, some may be depressed, think they are, or could be anorexic–which is where Pharma is placing all bets on this platform.
    I was a 14 yr old start up in this junk. I had a friend who was 18 who won a title; I saw her have to pose with her bike, her car, in her bathing suit, and she was miserable. She really was.I didn’t want that pressure; hell it’s hard enough being a teenage girl.
    I would hope Miss Anyone would have good intentions, but w/ pharma close at hand, well one can wonder who influences who…

  2. April 12, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    Depression Anxiety Research

    Telch, M.J., [ABSTRACT]. Depression / Anxiety / Mood /


Leave a Reply

