The Worst Things To Say To Someone Who Is Depressed: 91-97

This list is divided to have 10 of "The Worst Things To Say To Someone
Who Is Depressed" published each week. To see the entire list: go here. The ones that apply to me are bolded.

91. "Well, we all have our cross to bear."

92. "You should join band or chorus or something. That way you won’t be thinking about yourself so much."

93. "YOU change YOUR mind."

94. "You’re useless."

95. "Nobody is responsible for your depression."

96. "You don’t like feeling that way? So, change it!"

97. "You’re not depressed, you’re just crazy."

This concludes the weekly list of "The Worst Things To Say To Someone Who Is Depressed."

4 Comments

  1. Blue said,

    March 25, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    I have had many of those things said to me too. It’s so insensitive.
    I enjoy your blog.

  2. Stephany said,

    March 30, 2007 at 2:12 am

    This is an example of support from my Mother. I think it deserves a # on a list somewhere:[regarding my daughter’s Chiari MRI/surgery]
    “.. can’t put her name on any prayer chains due to the new laws about privacy”.
    This is why I sit in the woods.

  3. Bob Thompson said,

    March 30, 2007 at 9:15 am

    What, you didn’t know that pray chains have to follow HIPAA laws now?

  4. Stephany said,

    March 30, 2007 at 11:36 pm

    Oh my gosh. My Mother is a Pastor, etc. today I could write my own list of what not to say in a crisis.
    As of this afternoon, my daughter is still “banned from the list due to HIPAA” and my mom has told me that Jesus will handle everything.
    Okay, I am not anti-religion. But from the perspective of mental illness, and all of this; this is where my mom uses religion as a cop out to real emotions, and in person support.
    Just another perspective from a daughter of a religion professor-pastor.
    I need a hug more than the prayer chain.


Leave a Reply

