The Worst Things To Say To Someone Who Is Depressed: 81-90

This list is divided to have 10 of "The Worst Things To Say To Someone
Who Is Depressed" published each week. To see the entire list: go here. The ones that apply to me are bolded.

81. "What you need is some real tragedy in your life to give you perspective."

82. "You’re a writer, aren’t you? Just think of all the good material you’re getting out of this." (This one makes no DAMN sense. But it’s kinda true.)

83. "Have you tried chamomile tea?"

84. "You will be ok, just hang in there, it will pass." or "This too shall pass."-Ann Landers

85. "Oh, perk up!"

86. "Try not being so depressed."

87. "Quit whining. Go out and help people and you won’t have time to brood…"

88. "Go out and get some fresh air… that always makes me feel better."

89. "You have to take up your bed and carry on."

90. "Why don’t you give up going to those quacks (i.e. doctors) and throw out those pills, then you’ll feel better."

2 Comments

  1. Gianna said,

    March 16, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    I have to comment on the “This to Shall Pass” remark. I actually find this comforting as it seems, in my experience, to be true. The depths of hell always shift into, at least, shades of grey and eventually it seems I do have periods of “normal” mood. On the other hand the same is true of normal or good mood….it too shall pass!
    The glories of the human condition!

  2. Stephany said,

    March 17, 2007 at 12:25 am

    I must admit to telling myself just about all of those “bootstraps” comments. Hell, some of them are taped to my mirror.
    Somehow, it’s all we can do at a point to convince ourselves we can do this.
    Today, I had a day from hell, which builds on months and years of hell.
    A person I encountered today, said this to me: “When you eat lemons, you make lemonade.”
    She didn’t know me. Never saw me before in her life. I apparently looked like I had eaten lemons.
    Life goes on. With or without us.


Leave a Reply

