The Worst Things To Say To Someone Who Is Depressed: 71-80

This list is divided to have 10 of "The Worst Things To Say To Someone
Who Is Depressed" published each week. To see the entire list: go here. The ones that apply to me are bolded.

71. "The world out there is not that bad…"

72. "Just try a little harder!"

73. "Believe me, I know how you feel. I was depressed once for several days."

74. "You need a boy/girlfriend."

75. "You need a hobby."

76. "Just pull yourself together."

77. "You’d feel better if you went to church."

78. "I think your depression is a way of punishing us."

79. "Sh*t or get off the pot."

80. "So, you’re depressed. Aren’t you always?"

2 Comments

  1. March 9, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    79 made me laugh.

  2. Stephany said,

    March 9, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    I may have created a new # today. I told my daughter:(regarding being miserable and all)”This beats the hell out of making bead bracelets in craft class in a psych ward.”
    She responded: “That place was horrible.”
    One day at a time, and I must pull up my bootstraps, and keep my chin up. πŸ™‚
    –Stephany


Leave a Reply

