The Worst Things To Say To Someone Who Is Depressed: 51-60

This list is divided to have 10 of "The Worst Things To Say To Someone Who Is Depressed" published each week. To see the entire list: go here. The ones that apply to me are bolded.

51. "This is a place of BUSINESS, not a HOSPITAL."

52. "Depression is a symptom of your sin against God."

53. "You can make the choice for depression and its effects, or against depression, it’s all in YOUR hands."

54. "Get off your rear and do something." -or- "Just do it!"

55. "Why should I care?"

56. "Snap out of it, will you?"

57. "You *want* to feel this way."

58. "You have no reason to feel this way."

59. "It’s your own fault."

60. "That which does not kill us makes us stronger."

3 Comments

  1. Rick said,

    February 23, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    #52 is used by the Christians who hide behind the Bible for everything they do. You know, just accept JESUS, and all of your troubles will melt away.

  2. Stephany said,

    February 23, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    OK you got me with your list; been following it, and have to say: My mom has had me on a permanent prayer chain.
    Though many of ‘us’ are in the family (ssshh you know, bipolars) I get the prayer list. ALong with advice to get thyself quickly into a woman’s bible study for support.
    Ok this is my rant: DO I take my meds with me to the bible study? do I announce at the coffee/donut session that I may sound loud and arrogant when I’m manic?(and of course win every ‘arguement’) or how I may skip the study more times than I attend– due to depression?
    My Mom, bless her, she means well (?)even sent me flowers once & the card said “Jesus Cares”. Just sign it Love, Mom.

  3. March 1, 2007 at 12:18 am

    “#52 is used by the Christians who hide behind the Bible for everything they do. You know, just accept JESUS, and all of your troubles will melt away.”
    I have an uncle like that. Jesus doesn’t promise us a rose garden; He only promises us that He’ll be with us every step of the way.


Leave a Reply

