Quote of the Week

“I start to feel like I can’t maintain the facade any longer, that I may just start to show through. And I wish I knew what was wrong. Maybe something about how stupid my whole life is. I don’t know. Why does the rest of the world put up with the hypocrisy, the need to put a happy face on sorrow, the need to keep on keeping on?… I don’t know the answer, I know only that I can’t. I don’t want any more vicissitudes, I don’t want any more of this try, try again stuff. I just want out. I’ve had it. I am so tired. I am twenty and I am already exhausted.”— Elizabeth Wurtzel

3 Comments

  1. Jane said,

    February 18, 2007 at 11:52 am

    I’ve been feeling this way more often than not for 20 years. I’ve certainly got no answers. I came here today because it’s so bad I just wanted to see what I’d find. And here it was the sentiment I am feeling right now. I take no comfort in that I’m not alone.

  2. February 19, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Funny, someone mentioned I should read her on my blog. Now that’s just a little more motivation.

  3. Wenchy said,

    May 15, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    One of my favourite quotes… I think it explains anxiety/depression/bi-polar type feelings so very well.


Leave a Reply

