Birthday Weekend: Part II

Once I finished my WBC research, I went to bed and covered my head to escape the guilt of not going to work and being a complete loser. Imagining the worst: my co-workers hated me or they thought I’d purposely skipped out on work just for the hell of it. (The latter I’d never do since I had so much work that needed to be accomplished.) I slept the rest of the afternoon and well into the evening. During this time, the hubby freaked and called my mother at work in Manhattan. She dropped everything and hopped on Amtrak from Penn Station to 30th Street Station in Philadelphia.

His parents came over (they live 15 minutes away) and spent time with him, trying to reassure him because he TOO was beating himself up over guilt.

I woke up around 8 p.m. and realized that I couldn’t go to work and make things all better. So I decided to make the best of the rest of my birthday and go to Applebee’s with my family to indulge myself. Unlike many married couples, I love my in-laws and get along quite well with them so it wasn’t a bear to go out and spend time with my in-laws and husband.

My mother arrived just before 10:45 p.m. and gave me the biggest hug. She had a lot of things going on in her life at work (too complicated to explain on a blog), but she dropped everything to be there for me and my husband.

Although most of Friday turned out to be a stinker, Friday night with my husband, in-laws, and mom was awesome. My mother arriving all the way from NY was a real blessing. There was a time when my mother would put work ahead of me (or so I felt), but now she’ll drop everything at a moment’s notice to be at my side when I need her. Her presence was the best birthday present anyone could have ever given me.

P.S. I’m a quarter-of-a-century old. Oh, woe is me! [sarcasm]

Leave a Reply

