Celebrity Sensitivity: Mandy Moore

Oh man, does this need to become a regular feature.

Our newest depressed celebrity: Mandy Moore.

Mandy Moore“‘A few months ago I felt really low, really sad. Depressed for no reason,’ the 22-year-old actress-singer says in an interview in the February issue of Jane magazine, on newsstands Tuesday.  ‘I’m a very positive person, and I’ve always been glass-half-full,’ she continues. ‘So it was like someone flipped a switch in me. I wanted to figure out why.’

Moore, newly single after high-profile relationships with actor Zach Braff and tennis standout Andy Roddick, says her recent split with Braff didn’t help matters.

‘The breakup added to what I was going through, but it’s not the complete reason,” she tells the magazine. ‘It definitely doesn’t help if you’re already in that place…’

But now — Mandy’s cured!

“Moore, who is working on a new record at a studio in Woodstock, N.Y., and feeling better for doing it, says writing songs ‘away from friends in L.A. or New York’ is good for the soul. ‘Writing has been really therapeutic,’ she says of her music. ‘These little nuggets that have come up over the past eight months have made me look at things in a different way.’”

Writing is therapeutic and helps me sort through my feelings, but it’s never totally resolved my depression. Let’s see if Mandy goes through another “depression” in the future.

3 Comments

  1. Rick said,

    January 23, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Looks like depression is becoming the diagnosis du jour for some of these people. A few years ago, you couldn’t have got ANY of them to reveal depression, real or not.
    Besides, there is a difference between periods of sadness and true clinical depression. I know you know that, but I just wanted you to know that I knew that. 🙂

  2. January 23, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    I read that last night and I was wondering if you were going to post something about it.
    Ironically enough, she was dating Zack Braff who was that last celebrity who admitted to depression, if I’m not mistaken.

  3. January 24, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Yup. You’re absolutely right.


Leave a Reply

