Help others; temporarily relieve depression

From The Happiness Project:

"The positive psychologists will tell you this, and it’s really true: performing a good deed, doing a loving action, makes you feel great. … We should do good just because it’s the right thing to do—but it helps to remember how satisfying it is. Do good, feel good."

It really is true. Helping others isn’t a cure-all but it does temporarily relieve depressive symptoms. The time that you most don’t want to reach out to others is the moment that you really SHOULD reach out to others.

Example: When I’m depressed, I’m selfish and self-absorbed. When my husband is depressed while I’m depressed, I can’t remain depressed because it’s too important to me that my husband feel better. So I temporarily get "over" my depression to help my husband get over whatever’s bothering him. After all is said and done, I usually feel better about myself and other things in my life.

Like I said, it’s not a cure-all, but it helps.

1 Comment

  1. January 3, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Perhaps this is why so many people with a past history of depression go into social work.


Leave a Reply

