Male depression

I’ve learned something quite refreshing: my husband suffers from depression.

He pooh-poohs his depression, says it’s not as "severe" as mine but hearing some of the things he told me, it makes me wonder whether his is severe also – severe depression doesn’t necessarily need to lead to suicide although he was suicidal at one point.

Learning that my husband suffers from depression has sheed light on an important but sad fact: Male depression is often misdiagnosed or not diagnosed at all.

My husband sees himself as "lazy and forgetful." I’m not exactly a person with a great memory either – hence, my addiction to tadalist.com. Forgetfulness is a part of life, however, in depression, it becomes a vice – a negative quality to hold against ourselves. As for my husband being "azy." I have to respectfully disagree with him. The hubby appreciates and values his downtime away from work. He spends his time doing what he likes – sitting on the couch either watching a movie, TV or playing Xbox. I am not content to sit in one place for a long period of time so I’m almost always busy: with a project, a novel, reading, researching, acting, singing, taking voice lessons, being in a play, heading a startup organization. For me, it’s not enough to just "be" – for me, I must "do." Not "be"ing or "do"ing too much may just be our problem.

Leave a Reply

