Mommy, why is Santa Claus depressed?

Fat people are NOT more jolly! In fact, they tend to suffer more from depression. Studies suggest that doctors should be more aware of depressive-type symptoms in obese or overweight people. I don’t consider my husband, 6’2" and overweight (according to the BMI) by 150 lbs, to be more jolly, than oh say, Santa Claus. In fact, my husband’s penchant for having such a stern face earned him a college moniker: "Mr. Happy Face."

DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT take sumatriptans with serotonin medication. The FDA is concerned that the mix of migraine medications with SSRI anti-depressants could cause serotonin syndrome, a life-threatening condition that occurs when too much serotonin is present in the bloodstream. If you take anti-d’s and suffer from migraines, please see your doctor and talk about other medication options.

4 Comments

  1. gsrrettsmommy said,

    August 9, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    My doctor has me on cymbalta, lamictal, effexor, lithium and topomax, I have asked him about seratonin syndrome and he just shrugs me off. Frankly I’m scared to death.

  2. gsrrettsmommy said,

    August 9, 2007 at 7:20 pm

  3. Gianna said,

    August 10, 2007 at 11:46 am

    you might want to see another psychiatrist, mommy.
    You sound overmedicated–a second opinion could be useful.

  4. gsrrettsmommy said,

    August 13, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    I really appreciate your response, my psyhchiatrist is very hard to talk to. He seems to only want to write prescriptions and then send me on my way. I am looking into another doctor, but ther are so few in my area that accept my insurance. I am bipolar with PTSD. In April of this year I was hospitalized for suicidal intention. His plan is to take me off of Effexor eventually as well as cymbalta, but I am scared of the withdrawl. It is ridiculous that they put us on all these medications whether there are serious risks. A lot of times the side effects of the medications makes me feel worse than when I began. Sorry I just feel a little overwhelmed at what the future has in store for me. By the way my name is Barbie, thanks for your time.


Leave a Reply

