Blogger vs. Typepad

FirefoxI’ve endured much frustration with Blogger, namely at work. I use Internet Explorer here because they don’t allow other browsers to function on work computers. (I, myself, am a big proponent of Firefox.) My Firefox browser at home seems to have no problems with Blogger. In fact, it seems quite compatible. But my IE browser at work cannot stand Blogger and in some cases, anything Google-related (i.e. Google homepage, Gmail, etc.). It may very well be my connection at work is slow or the servers here don’t like my accessing anything Google-related, but I have spent at least half-a-day on many days attempting to load one single post onto my blogspot account. And I’m tired of it. I’ve used Typepad before and it loads quickly, easily and rarely gives me any problems. Considering that most of my blogging is done at work, Typepad, for me, is worth the expense. I view it as a personal investment. I used to pay for Livejournal, another Six Apart entity, so I’ll simply be switching my money from LJ to Typepad. (Although Typepad is significantly more expensive than LJ.)

My husband, not particularly a blogger, can’t understand why I’d pay more than $20 a year for a blog. I’m not quite sure I can explain it in terms anyone will understand. Why does anyone on Typepad pay to use Typepad? I’m not the only one shelling out money for personal blogging.

LJI do like Livejournal’s interface. It’s easy to use and customizable. But like Xanga and GreatestJournal, it’s got this teeny bopper-look. Typepad’s posting interface is much cleaner than LJ, saving me embarrassment from the large “LIVEJOURNAL” announcement on my computer screen to those who pass by my desk. Livejournal and Xanga also are not taken as seriously as other blogs. I’m sure there are quite a number of LJ blogs from which people can glean good information — the overwhelming majority, however, seems to be more of a “squee! OMG!LOL!ROFL!!!one!!!shift+one!!111” genre. I admit even my own LJ has an interface belonging to that of a younger person (sans the intermittent “squee”).  Deadjournal, of course, isn’t even a consideration as I have no propensity toward goth or “emo.”

My husband suggested WordPress. I tried WordPress but quickly came to dislike it because the design templates are not customizable unless you host a blog on your own site. By customizable, I am referring to a design similar to what I have here. I enjoy having a three-column blog because I think it has a cleaner layout for what I like to do. I like being able to put lists on either side of my posts and keep my page relatively uncluttered. (I don’t enjoy scrolling down a page for a long period of time.) WordPress had a three-column template that looked too futuristic — great for a tech blog, too distracting for a depression blog. I prefer simple templates that are pleasing to the eye and can get right to the point. WordPress’s inability to let me use HTML to customize the design of my blog turned me off. This revelation quickly led me to delete my account.

MovableType is also a Six Apart-entity but like WordPress, must be hosted on a personal site. MovableType has also been removed as an option. Therefore, my quest has led me to Typepad, of which I am wholly satisfied. Satisfied enough to pay for it. Because I know that once I press the button to publish this post, I will not sit here at 3:00 p.m. wondering why my pictures won’t load, what HTML tag has gone wrong with my post or why I need to constantly reformat my post to get it to look the way I want it to.

Reliability saves time and aggravation.

Leave a Reply

