Lamictal withdrawal: not over yet

People have been asking how my withdrawal has been going lately. Well, I’m not out of the woods yet.

I’m down to 25 mg and will probably be ultra-conservative and taper down to 12.5 mg. I might even be a real coward and do 10 mg for 2 weeks then 5 mg for 2 weeks.

Overall, I’ve been fatigued and I suffer from feeling slow and stupid. I guess that would be a lack of mental clarity. A few people have told me they already miss the blog’s news and regular updates. Truth be told, I put hours of time and research into those things and I no longer have the energy or the brain power for any of it anymore. I haven’t even been able to work on my novel recently. I don’t have the concentration to read a book all the way through.

All I can do now are mindless tasks like Twittering or taking “What Britney Spears song are you”?” quizzes on Facebook. I love crossword puzzles and Sudoku and even those have become a challenge for me recently.

All I want to do these days is exist. And simply existing bothers me because then it feels like I have no purpose.

I’m also more prone to negative thoughts.

I could go on and on but that about sums it up.

2 Comments

  1. Gianna said,

    July 12, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I went off at 1.5 mg of Lamictal…you’re hardly being ultra conservative…you’re being safe…
    some people get grossly ill coming off Lamictal…and they should taper in tiny doses…

  2. July 13, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Your description sounds exactly the way I did when I started to take lithium. Going on and coming off were equal dead zones.
    I’m sorry it’s so hard and hope you get better soon. Your mind is too beautiful to be messed up like this.
    My best — John


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

