Keeping up with the Joneses

The longer I continue this blog and the more comments I receive, I stumble across more mental health blogs that offer unique insight and a wealth of information. However, I have only so much time in the day (and week!) and can’t keep up with all of them. This disappoints me as I love to read them all but feel overwhelmed. I use Thunderbird, a program similar to Outlook, that downloads RSS feeds but I already have 30+ sites listed. I’m not a fan of Google Reader. Anyone have any suggestions on how to keep up with the  blogs you read?

5 Comments

  1. Prester John said,

    May 16, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I’ve tried several aggregators but always come back to google reader. With its tagging capabilities and “share” features its perfect for my needs. I’ve used Thunderbird. Safari has a built in reader I’ve used. I’ve tried all the major online models but they’r all pretty crappy, with the exception google reader. If you don’t mind a lot of pointless clicking you can just use your blog roll but you’ll waste a lot to time that way. I guess it’s just a question of finding something that clicks for you.

  2. Jim said,

    May 16, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    All respect to PJ above, I don’t like Google Reader as much as bloglines. Greader is okay, but bloglines beta (there are two versions: original and beta. The original bloglines is inferior to google reader, I think) is cleaner and less cluttered than google reader. For what it’s worth.
    Bloglines is still a feed reader though, and if you don’t like Google Reader you might not like it either.

  3. etta said,

    May 16, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    I’ve been feeling the same way and wondering about this, too. Thanks for the post, Marissa, and the comments, guys. I have google reader, but I even get overwhelmed with that unless I read it every single day, which I don’t!! And I like to comment, too, but like you said, it just gets to be too much! Maybe I’ll give the reader another try…

  4. May 16, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Thanks for the comments. I’m with etta – I might give Google reader another shot. But Kevin MD posts WAY TOO MUCH!!!

  5. Gianna said,

    May 17, 2008 at 8:57 am

    I like simple RSS feed that are fit in firefox browser…I didn’t like either bloglines or google reader…
    Feeds in firefox are nice and neat and really fast.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

