BJ Harroun left this comment for me on one of my posts Pristiq's FDA Chances: Depression – Yea; Menopause – Nay:

I have just completed my first two weeks on Pristiq. I have suffered from MDD for 35 years. I cannot take Effexor because it increases my appetite. Pristiq has really helped me. I have taken everything and I think I have finally found something that works for me. Don't dismiss this drug because it is an Effexor metabolite.

I didn't expect to see much of a difference between Pristiq and Effexor in terms of side effects since I figure since they're from the same class (SNRI). But I'm glad that Pristiq seems to be helping BJ. It would behoove me to take a look at the PIs for Effexor and Pristiq and check out the clinical trial data and see how they shaped out differently. But there's only so much time for me during the day.

2 Comments

  1. Stephany said,

    May 12, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    I’m no expert, but 2 weeks on any drug with a good response often ends up being a red flag for future problems. I’d wait until the 2-3 month mark –I’d like to hear the person’s report on the results then.

  2. Marissa said,

    May 13, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Good point, Stephany. Me too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

