Blogging bad for mental health?

Two weeks ago, the NYTimes wrote a story about the pressure that blog writers have to keep on blogging. The article points out that three bloggers died (it’s assumed that it’s due in part to the nature of their work?) and that many more suffer from weight problems, sleep disorders, and a whole host of other sicknesses or illnesses because of their addiction to blogging. Many of these bloggers (the article cites the techies) are paid and get little sleep lest they not be the first to post about the latest news.

I don’t have the problem about being first about anything. I never am and don’t expect myself to be. I do know how it feels to place pressure on yourself to keep blogging, blogging, blogging. Especially when you take a look at your stats and see your readership increasing every day.

My readership hits reached a daily high last month with my two posts on the FDA’s investigation on the Singulair-suicide link. That rarely happens. But it gave me the impetus to keep digging for stories that might be of similar significant relevance. (I haven’t found any since so far.)

But it hasn’t kept me tethered to the computer although I can be if I’m in the right mood. I’m pretty slow at typing my posts and can sit here for at least an hour before hitting the publish button.

Blogging has been lucrative for some, but those on the lower rungs of the business can earn as little as $10 a post, and in some cases are paid on a sliding bonus scale that rewards success with a demand for even more work.

I’d like to get paid $10 a post as opposed to getting paid $0. (In fact, I’m paying $12 a month!) Anyone have any ideas to get revenue going on a blog apart from Google Ads?

(Hat tip: Six Until Me)

3 Comments

  1. BPD in OKC said,

    April 21, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I’d rather not get paid for blogging personally. I do it to clear my head, to get things out. If I get paid for it, it would seem like a job. I hate jobs and therefore would probably hate blogging. My blog is my way to communicate how I feel and to raise awareness of borderline personality disorder, nothing more.
    I don’t have problems with people who blog for money. I just know I couldn’t do it.

  2. David Paul said,

    April 22, 2008 at 1:24 am

    We should blog because (a) we feel inspired to do so and (b) we have something to say. Not because we feel an obligation. I’ve recently helped a mental health chaplain, Craig Rennebohm, develop The Chaplain’s Blog, a forum on spirituality, faith, and healing, and one of our first decisions was to “shoot for” a weekly entry, but not to force ourselves to come up with one if we didn’t have something to say or had to stay up until after our bedtimes to do it (in which case it probably wouldn’t be very coherent).

  3. Nancie said,

    April 22, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Blogging can be quite addictive. After I started my blog in February this year, I found myself enjoying the experience so much that almost daily I am either writing a post or visiting others’ blogs. I enjoyed the experience very much. It is therapeutic to me and I have made so many friends!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

