Paxil withdrawal

paxilThanks to Philip Dawdy at Furious Seasons, he wrote about the Uncomfortably Numb blog. The blog focuses mainly on the side effects (and side effect withdrawals) of Paxil. Having been on Paxil (CR), I can identify. I was fortunate enough to ask my doctor for a switch after three months, but I still have this occasional eye-twitch that lasts for days that has stayed with me since taking Paxil back in February 2004. If I didn’t take Paxil for three days, my nerves just went horrible: I felt shaky and my entire life seemed fluid – it was like constantly walking in a pool of water. Nothing seemed real; everything was a dream. But it wasn’t. Everything was too hard, too much effort, too much anything. I couldn’t stand it. I quit Paxil “cold turkey” (again, don’t do this, kids) and felt worse before I could feel better. I went from Paxil to Lexapro and… yeah, felt worse again.

Lesson? Primary care physicians should NOT give antidepressants to depressed people with undiagnosed bipolar disorder.

4 Comments

  1. Bob Thompson said,

    December 29, 2006 at 8:26 am

    PCPs should not give antidepressants to anyone

  2. December 29, 2006 at 9:32 am

    I get those twitches too, though I was never on any medications…it’s a nerve thing and I know how annoying they can be. I also get it at the corner of my mouth but it’s not as annoying or uncomfortable.

  3. Rick said,

    December 29, 2006 at 10:24 am

    You’re really doing your homework here, Marissa. Kudos to you for becoming an advocate for informed mental illness treatment.

  4. ttq said,

    December 29, 2006 at 5:02 pm

    You said it. You have me pegged right down to the eye twitch. I also got some groovy “trips” complete with hallucinations when on Paxil and when I stopped cold turkey.
    Yeah, that was fun, kids really do not try this at home. It really, really sucked.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

